Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Thermal Soaring results by Mike O'Reilly

Since 1978 RC glider pilgrims have travelled to the small NSW town of Jerilderie for Australia’s biggest thermal duration contest. This year 63 competitors flew in near perfect conditions on the local racecourse.

After 14 rounds of hard fought competition former World Champion Joe Wurts of New Zealand beat another former World Champion David Hobby, with Australian F3J team member Carl Strautins just a few points away in 3rd place. Nick Chabrel took 4th and F3J Team Manager Theo Arvanitakis grabbed 5th.

6 of the top 10 pilots used the JR 12X radio(JR DSX12), 7 of the top 10 used JR/Spektrum DSM2 technology and 8 of the top 12 pilots flew Pike gliders.

The ‘B’ team (former F3B World Championship pilots) of Joe Wurts, Nick Chabrel, John Skinner, Mike O’Reilly and Steve Keep just pipped the ‘J’ team (this year’s Australian F3J World Championship team) of David Hobby, Carl Strautins, Theo Arvanitakis, Jim Houdalakis and Jamie Nancarrow for the coveted Team prize.

Staff members Mike O’Reilly took out 8th place with his Pike Perfect ET/JR 12X combination and Jamie Nancarrow 14th with his Pike Perfect ET/ JR 12X combination.


No comments:

Post a Comment